Pilot olmak… -1- / To become a pilot… -1-

“Kolda kalkmanın birinci maddesi, istekli olmaktır.”

Hangi kol? Ne kolu? Kolda kalkmak ta ne? Bu soruların cevabına değinirim tabiiki, fakat yazının başlığından da anlaşılacağı gibi asıl konu o değil. İstekli miyiz? Pilot olmaya hazır mıyız? Nasıl pilotluk? Pilot denince aklımıza ilk gelen nedir? Dağların arasından iç organlarımızı sarsan sesiyle, adeta gökyüzünü yırtan, yüksek hızla gelen jetlerin, damla model gözlüklü, elinde tuttuğu kaskının oksijen maskesinin hortumu sallanan, tulumunun kollarını sıvamış, karizmatik pilotu mu? Filmlerde, reklamlarda her zaman gördüğümüz, kolunda 4 çizgi, harika bir takım elbise, arkasında sanki dünya güzeli(!) 5-6 kabin görevlisi ile kolda uçarcasına, uygun adım uçağına doğru giden havayolu pilotu mu?

Aslında bir çoğumuzun çocukluğunda, “büyüyünce ne olacaksın?” sorusunun cevabıdır, pilot olmak. Ama işte, yine aynı soru; pilot denince aklımıza gelen nedir? Eğer “pilot olmak” denince aklınıza ilk gelen havayolu pilotu olmak ise, bu yazı size göre olmayabilir. Zaten “nasıl pilot olunur” da değil, sadece yıllarını pilot olmaya harcamış bir insanın yaşadıklarını kısaca özetleyen bir yazı, bu okuyacağınız.

Ben birçok erkeğin (günümüzde birçok kızın da) olduğu gibi, çocukluğunda “büyüyünce ne olacaksın?” sorusuna “pilot olacağım” diyenlerden değilim. Evet, gerçekten hiç pilot olacağım demedim. Ben, hep “astronot” olacağım dedim. Tabiiki çocukça bir heves, sadece. Artık bizim evde nasıl filmler izleniyorsa o dönem. Ya da nerden gördüm bir astronot ta, olmak istedim bilmiyorum. Allah aşkına kaç kişi var ki hayatta çocukken olacağını söylediği mesleği yapan? Tabiiki bu hevesim, aklım başıma geldikçe, dünyayı tanıdıkça yerini gerçekliğe bırakmaya başladı. Memur bir babanın ve ev hanımı bir annenin çocuğu olarak liseye kadar çok sıra dışı bir hayat hikayem olmadı. İlkokulda ve ortaokulda yaşanmış tabiiki birçok güzel anı ve arkadaşlık var. Tabiiki yaşanan çocukluk yılları çok değerli ama anlatacak sıra dışı hiçbir şey yok. Her şey çok doğal ve sıradan.

Her şey çok doğal ve sıradan, ta ki, harıl harıl fen liselerini kazanmak için teneffüslerde bile ders çalıştığımız dönemde, yani ortaokul son sınıfta, eski okulunu, öğretmenlerini ziyarete gelen o askeri öğrenci, üniformasıyla sınıftan içeri girip bir ders saati boyunca derste kalana kadar. Sanki o an benim de hayatımda sıra dışı bir şeyler olmaya başlamıştı, hissediyordum. Hayatımda askeri kıyafeti ilk defa görmüyordum illaki, babam TSK’da görevli bir devlet memuruydu ve haki renkli üniformaların içinde büyümüştüm. Askeri lise konusu evde daha önce de açılmıştı, fakat nedendir bilinmez, hem bana hiç çekici gelmiyordu hem de ailem çok istemiyordu ve konu çok çabuk kapandı. Neyse biz derse dönelim; işte o zaman, o üniformalı askeri öğrencinin, üniformasının içinde hayal ettim kendimi, bir ders saati boyunca. Çok çekici gelmişti. Sonucunu hiç düşünmedim o an. İleriyi hiç görmedim. Sonucunda ne olacağımı bile tam bilmiyordum. Tek düşündüğüm, o üniformanın içinde olmaktı. Belki ben de gelecek sene üniformamı giyip okulumu ziyarete gelir, derse girerdim.

O zamanlar farklıydı. Askeri lise sınavları, merkezi sistem sınavlarıyla birlikte yapılmıyordu. Hoş, şuan nasıl onu da bilmiyorum ama bir ara fen lisesi, Anadolu lisesi, askeri lise vs. bütün okulların sınavları ortak olmuştu. Yani askeri lise sınavlarına girmek için ayrıca belgeler, başvurular gerekiyordu. Bütün formaliteleri, babamı, annemi ikna etmek te dahil olmak üzere tamamlamıştım. Ders çalışmak her zaman yaptığımız şeydi zaten. Ama askeri lise bu, sadece dersle bitmiyor ki. Spor yapmak gerekiyordu. Mülakatlara hazırlanmak, sağlık testinden geçmek vardı. Sınavlara hazırlanma sürecinin son bölümü bu olaydan sonra askeri lise odaklı devam etti ve sonucunda mutlu sona ulaştım. Hayatımda ilk defa memleketimden başka bir ile gidecektim. İlk defa deniz görecektim, ilk defa İstanbul’u görecektim. Çok heyecanlıydı. Sınava Kuleli Askeri Lisesi’nde girdim ve o an olumsuz hiçbir şey çarpmıyordu gözüme. Olmak istediğim yerdeydim. Evet, bana göreydi bu meslek. Bu üniformayı giymeliydim. O güne kadar kafama koyduğum her şeyi yaptığım gibi, bunu da yapmalıydım.

Neyse ki, sınavı kazanmıştım ve spor testleri için tekrar Kuleli Askeri Lisesi’ne gittim. Ön sağlık testinden sonra, koştum, zıpladım, barfiks, mekik çektim. Aslında, hiçbirini tam istediğim gibi yapamadım. Benden iyileri vardı. Korktum almayacaklar mıydı acaba beni. Gruplar halinde götürüyorlardı bizi testlere, onlu gruplar. En güzeli de o ailelerin beklediği, yaşlı ağaçların arasındaki, Çengelköy sahilden Beykoz’a doğru giden sahil yolunun hemen dibinde, denize bakan bahçede satılan ekmek arası dönerdi. Sıra çok oluyordu, beklemek karnımı daha da acıktırıyordu, belki de ondan çok lezzetliydi. Neyse, onlu grup gittikçe azalıyordu. Spor testinden sonra mülakatlara gidecektik, işte en heyecanlı yer burasıydı. Acaba spor testini geçip mülakatlara girmeye hak kazanmış mıydım? En kötüsü de beklemek. Asker abi gelip on kişilik gruptan yedi kişinin ismini okuyunca ve o yedi kişiden biri ben olmayınca her şeyin orada bittiğini düşünmemek çok saçma olurdu galiba. O yedi kişi için çok üzücü olsa da içinde benim de ismimin olduğu üç kişinin geçtiğini öğrenmek, hayatımdaki heyecanlı anlardan sadece birisiydi. Evet, mülakata giriyordum. Acaba o omuzlarında parlak parlak, sarı renkli yıldızlar bulunan amcaların karşısında dilim tutulup kalır mıydı? Ya bildiklerimi de söyleyemezsem. Söyledim. Tutulmadı dilim. Heyecanlandım ama dilim tutulmadı. Sorular kolay geldi herhâlde. İlk soru çok önemlidir hep. O amcalar hiç te korkutucu değillermiş. Korkulacak bir şey de yokmuş.

O dayanılmaz bekleme süreci başlamıştı. Bir süre sonra hayat normale döndü, heyecan yerini sadece beklemeye bıraktı. Neyseki kazanmış olmak için, sonuçların açıklanacağı gün, bir gazete sayfasında ismini görmenin yetmediğini, “ben kazanmışım şuan ne yapacağım” demek için, kazandığım askeri liseyi aradığımda verilen “size prosedür gönderilecek bir mektupla açıklanacak” cevabıyla anlamıştım. O mektubun gelmesini beklemek, girdiğim sınavlardan ve testlerden çok daha zordu. Ama herşey yolunda gidiyordu ve mektup sonunda geldi. Babamın imzalaması gereken “yüklü miktarda” bir teminat belgesi, okulun istediği rutin bir takım belge, kutlama mesajı ve hangi tarihte kayıt yaptırıp, intibak kampına katılacağımı söyleyen bir yazı. Hepsi bu.

On dört yaşına kadar annesinin olmadığı bir evde uyuyamayan ben, yatılı bir okula, hem de askeri bir okula gidiyordum. Ailemi toplamda, ömrümün bundan sonraki bölümünde, sadece askeri lise hayatım boyunca aynı yatakhanede kaldığım arkadaşımdan bile daha az görecektim. Babamla çıktığım yolda, kayıt işlemlerinin ardından babamın bana el sallayarak uzaklaştığı o ana kadar farkında bile değildim gerçeklerin. Çok uzun ve aslında yalnız bir yolun ilk anlarıydı o anlar. Şuan bile düşündüğümde çok hüzünlü gelen o anlar, o anki şaşkınlığımla çok ta hissedebildiğim bir duygusallıkta değildi. Sadece yeni ortama ayak uydurmaya çalışmanın verdiği yoğunluk sayesinde üzeri örtülen hislerdi aslında, o hissedemediğim hüzün. Bir de daha ilk anlarında olmama rağmen, üzerime yüklediğim “asker ağlamaz” imajının verdiği duygusal baskıydı, babam giderken güçlü, hiçbirşey olmamış gibi davranmak.

İlk gece ağlamadım. Annem yanımda yoktu ama ilk gece ağlamadım. Sanırım kayıt sırasındaki etkilerin devamıydı bunlar. Hala şaşkınlık ve ortama ayak uydurmaya çalışan hislerimin baskısındandı, ilk gece ağlamamak. Ama diğer geceler bukadar kararlı ve baskılı değildi hislerim. Koyuvermiştim kendimi. “Asker ağlamaz” mı? Asker mi? Daha iki gün olmuştu. Asker bile değildim ki ben. Annemi özlemiştim. Üç gün olmuştu ve ben annemi özlemiştim. Konuşamamıştım bile telefonla. Çok sıra vardı. O zamanlar elimizde akıllı telefonlar yoktu. 400 kişinini ortak kullandığı üç tane ankesörlü telefon. Boş zaman da yoktu ki. Annemin sesini bile özlemiştim. İnsanoğlu, herşeye alışıyor. Günler hızla geçiyordu ve ben alışıyordum.

Sınıfımıza üniformalı askeri öğrencinin girmesiyle başlayan serüvendi bu. Anlatmaya çalışsam, üç cilt kitaba sığdıramayacağım bir dört seneydi. Karacı bir subay olacağımı düşünürken havacı olabileceğimi öğrendim bu sürede. Bir çok arkadaş ve birçok anı kazandım. İlk sakal traşımı burada oldum. Ben, ben oldum. Yaşıtlarımla aslında aynı yaşta olmadığımı burada anladım. Öğrendiğim daha o kadar çok şey varki…

Bir sonraki yazımda hayatımın geri kalanında giymek istediğim mavi üniformayı nasıl elde ettiğimi anlatacağım.


“The first criterion of ‘Formation Take off’ is Passion…”

What is ‘Formation’? What is ‘Formation Take off’? I will talk about the answers of all these questions, but for now, this is not the point as you may understand from the title of paragraph. First of all, do you have passion? Are you ready for being a pilot? Which type of pilot? What is the first thing that comes to your mind when you heard the word: ‘Pilot’? Is the charismatic pilot who is streaking between mountain peaks loudly, tearing up the skies with his pilot sunglasses, and walking in his g-suit with rolled up sleeves while holding his helmet together with a shaking oxygen hose?

Actually, for most of us, ‘pilot’ is the answer of the question ‘what are you going to be when you grow up?’ But still the same question… What is the first thing that comes to your mind when you heard the word: ‘Pilot’? If ‘Airline Pilot’ is the first thing that pops up on your mind, this writing may not be within your field of interest. Nonetheless, you will not read about ‘How to become a pilot?’ You will read about a person who has spent his years to become a jet pilot.

I was not one of those boys -nowadays it also goes for the girls- who say ‘pilot’ in response to ‘what are you going to be when you grow up?’. Yes it is true. I never gave that answer. I always replied to this question with “I want to be an astronaut!”. In point of fact, it was just a childhood dream. Who would know what kind of sci-fic movies were being watched in our home back then? Long story short, I have no idea about what the impulse was. For god’s sake! How many people are there work in their childhood dream job? Anyway, so as you will guess, this dream and enthusiasm replace with realism as long as I grew up and meet with the real world. I did not have an unusual life as being a child of a civil servant father and housewife mother till the years of high school. Of course I have many postcards that I lived with my friends and lovely memories coming from the school years but there is nothing more unusual.

Everything was the same until one of my friend -who was one of the student of military school- came in to the class with his official military uniform in order to visit us and his teachers.

Right there I felt it. Something had started to change in my life. Yes, I was feeling… In fact, it was not the first time that I have met with a military uniform because of that my father had also been a member of Turkish Military Force. Thus, I grew up in an environment related to military. What the interesting part was, we had already talked about my future and the option of military high school within family members but somehow I had not been interested in and ended up the subject. Anyways let’s back to the point… At that exact moment, I dreamed of myself in this military uniform during an hour of a class. It was really impressive for me. I had no idea what’s going to happen next. But who cares? The only thing that I knew was I had to be in that uniform. Who knows? May be next year, I was going to be the one who would visit his friends and teachers with this uniform?

Back then, the rules of the application to military schools were different. Military School Examination and National High School Selection Examination were not being evaluated together with. I don’t know today how they work though. On those days, you had to complete some application documents specified to those Military High Schools. As the result of that, I had already completed those official formalities to convince my mother and father. For us, to study those kinds of selection examinations was an usual activity anyway. It was as easy as duck soup. However it was not an ordinary high school, it was a ‘Military School’. To study your classes was not enough to be accepted in. You had to do sport and some physical exercises. Moreover to these, you had to prepare for the interviews and you had to pass by some health check tests. At the end of the preparation period, I also worked on those issues and figured them out. It was the first time of my life that I was going out of my hometown and moving another city of the country. Besides, I was going to see Istanbul -which is the biggest metropolis of Turkey- and I would lay my eyes on a sea for the first time. Those were the extremely excited times for me. I took the exam at Kuleli Military High School and everything was so far so good. I was where I wanted to be. Yes, I could feel it; it was right up my alley! I had to wear that uniform and I had to do what I set on my mind just same as before.

Thank God, I passed the written examination. Then, I went to the school for the sport selections. After the pre-health compliance test; I ran, jumped, chinned up, and did some crunches. Actually, I could do none of them as the way I wanted. Because I realized that there were others better than me. I was scared. I doubted if they would not accept me. During this stage, supervisors arranged us into decades and we were coming and going as a whole decade. To be honest, the best part of this journey was the kebab sandwich which was sold in the corner of the park where all the families of candidates waiting for them. There was a long-long line in front that buffet car and it was taking really long time to reach and buy. May be just because of this it was very delicious. Anyways, the time of personal interviews were getting closer hours by hours. I would learn if I passed the health and sport tests. It was the most exciting part of all. At last, the big soldier brother came and announced the names of us among ten candidates. Yes, I was one of those three who passed. Now it was the turn of interview. I was thinking if I would become speechless in front of commanders with their yellow, shiny shoulder epaulettes. What if I couldn’t tell the things that I knew? However, in a sort of way, I could tell. I didn’t become wordless. Yes I got excited but I could speak. I guess the questions were easy. Those commanders were not scary so far as I had predicted and nothing was there for being worried.

In the long run, unbearable waiting-period started. Everything got back into ordinary circulation and excitement gave its way to stability. To read my name from a newspaper page –back then exam results were being announced by national newspapers– was not enough in understanding that I was completely accepted. I called admission committee and they told me that the standard procedure would inform me by an official letter. It was the time that I understood only this letter was going to mean that I got accepted officially. Waiting period for this letter was the hardest one during whole this examination processes. However all went well and I took this expected letter together with some documents such as a letter of indemnity -with a substantial amount- which was supposed to be signed by my father, a congratulatory note, the deadlines for matriculation and adaptability camp. That is all.

But the problem was that I, who cannot even sleep in a home without my mother till my 14th age, was going to a military school as a boarding student. The fact is that, I would see my family even less than my roommates. The moment that I recognized this reality was that my father waved his hand to say goodbye to me after all registration process. Those were the days for the beginning of a new, long and lonely way. Even now, I feel so sad when I thought about those moments, although I did not felt like this before because of the confusion that I had. I guess I hided all my feelings in order to adapt new environment and fit in with the crowd quickly. Moreover, I think I kept the idea of “a soldier doesn’t cry” in my mind and I felt the emotional pressure of it. I had to be strong and tough while my father was leaving me.

I did not cry for the first night. My mother was not with me but I didn’t even so. I guess I still couldn’t jump over that conditioned emotionlessness. It was arising from my orientation effort and astonishment. But following days? Do not even go there! Unfortunately I let myself go. Does not a soldier cry? Who was the soldier? Me? It was just the second day! I had already missed my mother! I could not even speak on the phone. There was a long line in front of the ‘payphone’. Yes, there were not those smart phones back then. There were only three payphones which were used by 400 boarding students. We were also not available for those callings either. I had even missed my mother’s voice. But at the end, a human is getting used to everything in this life. The time was flying and I was also getting used to…

In conclusion, that was an adventure began with the student who came in our class in his official military uniform. Believe or not, I cannot even collect all those four military high school years into a four-volume novel. During this period I learned that I could be an air force officer instead of an army officer. I built strong friendships and beautiful memories. I had my first shave in this school. At the end I became myself. I saw that I was not at the same age with my coevals. There were just so many cool things that I had learned…

In my next article, I will tell you how I got ‘blue uniform’ which I wanted to wear at the rest of my life…

One comment

  1. Ali Hikmet · Temmuz 2, 2015

    Komutanım bende o kadar istiyorum ki pilot olmayı size anlatmaya kelimelerin yeteceğini düşünmüyorum. Belki gelecekte bir gün görüşmek üzere 🙂 Diğer yazılarınızı heyecanla beklerken mutluluklar diliyorum.

    Beğen

Bir Yanıt Bırakın

